Major Studio II — Week 1 & 2

Elif Karakose
2 min readFeb 10, 2020

For our major studio at Parsons School of Design, we will be working on a topic and build a digital product for improving user experience.

The first week we started with brainstorming about our topic of interests and with the affinity mapping method we tried to narrow it down to 3 main topics. In the end, I had 4 topics that were interesting to me.

  • City & Travel
  • Ecofriendly lifestyle and design
  • Professional Networking
  • Learning New Things
First Affinity Map

In the second week, I worked on the topics and found some overlapping topics.

I used the app ‘Miro’ for brainstorming which helped me finding relations between each topic.

I merged Eco-friendly Design and City& Travel topics to understand traveling habits for people. I enjoy traveling a lot and I think seeing other cultures and places helps us build a better understanding and we become open-minded people. As natural disasters and global warming are becoming an important fact I thought raising awareness for an eco-friendly approach for traveling can be interesting.

I always find biking is a very useful and fun way for exploring a city. As a mobility option, I started my research for biking experience in the city, and as the third topic, I decided to work with professional networking.

In the class, we had a very helpful exercise for planning our project timeline. We worked with post-its in groups to build a calendar.

It helped me to understand the general progress.

Project Planning

Next steps: I will be working on the topics for creating interview guidelines. Also, I will continue the desk researching the topics.

--

--